Quality assessed star-ratings explained

Star Ratings

Most accommodation establishments in Britain have a star rating from one of the four assessing bodies – VisitEngland, VisitScotland, Visit Wales or the AA. They all assess to the same national standards so you can expect comparable services, facilities and quality standards at each star rating.

The rating helps you choose with confidence knowing that the accommodation has been thoroughly checked out before you check in.

The more stars, the higher the quality and the greater the range of facilities and level of service but the facilities available depend upon the type of accommodation.

Gold and Silver Awards

These awards are given to establishments offering the highest level of quality within their particular star rating. VisitEngland’s unique Gold and Silver Awards are given in recognition of exceptional quality.

Accommodation types


  • Hotel
  • Small Hotel
  • Country House Hotel
  • Town House Hotel
  • Metro Hotel

Guest Accommodation

  • Bed and Breakfast
  • Guest House
  • Farmhouse
  • Inn
  • Restaurants with rooms

Self Catering

  • Holiday Cottages, Houses and Lodges
  • Holiday Cottage Agencies
  • Boat Accommodation
  • Serviced Apartments

Parks & Holiday Villages

  • Camping Park
  • Touring Park
  • Holiday Park
  • Holiday Villages
  • Forest Holiday Village

Accredited accommodation with no star rating

Budget and Accredited Hotels
Hostels, Bunks & group accommodation
Static caravans & lodges
Campus accommodation
Glamping & alternative accommodation - self-catering accommodation with a twist ranging from wigwams or tipis to shepherds’ trailers, treehouses or camper vans